Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
Just about 100 Entries

I've been curiously pondering the wisdom behind the bannering system on this site. People pay physical money to advertise their private thoughts to a public audience. Fair enough if you think you've got something you want to share with the world, but I've discovered that a great many of you are offering up some very private thoughts.

This is fair enough, again, if you're just looking for an audience, someone to share your problems and say, with varying degrees of sincerity, 'I understand'. But some of you, it appears, are openly hurling abuse at people you know and/or love. That you then advertise your diary for anyone who happens by is quite astonishing.

If you want to slag off your best mate or your lover, for your own sake, use a pseudonym that nobody is going to relate to you. Even if you're not vain enough to advertise on here with flashy banners attracting people to read your discontentedness and private musings on how boyfriend beats you, or girlfriend doesn't put out often or well enough, I remind you that these diaries are googlable.

I don't really know why I'm writing this. For the life of me, I couldn't tell you why I would even care that some of you idiots throw your relationships away so recklessly. True to form, I should be encouraging the practice. I won't lie and say that I don't garner some degree of amusement watching the occasional diary disappear because they've been 'found' by real lifers.

Me? Anyone I know in life who wants to read about me can find my diary easy enough. And maybe they won't like what they read, but it won't be because they're reading personal insults and outright libelous rantings. No, they'll more than likely instead disagree with my point of view and my general stance on pretty much everything I write here.

But I want people to disagree with me. I'm not looking for an audience of yes-men and useless apathetic wankers that 'don't have an opinion' on this subject or that. You don't interest me. If you want to talk about the problems facing the world, let's thrash it out. Otherwise, click back on your browser and find something else to read.



0 message(s) of denial

Copyright Insane Bartender 2006-07-26 3:59 p.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender