Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
When Good Debts Go Bad

It never ceases to amaze me the recklessness with which people throw themselves willingly into mountains of debt. Sure, the anarchists will argue that they're being manipulated by macro-economic policy; decisions of government and the Bank of England conspiring to empty their wallets. But that argument doesn't really hold much weight when you consider that I'm a part of the same economy, and don't experience these problems.

The availability of easy credit in this country isn't the problem, it's the mass of idiots that take it up not realising that it has to be paid back someday. And there are other stupidities as well.

Take, for example, a columnist on the BBC website. She's out of a job, heavily pregnant (and, for all I can gather, single) and threatened with reposession of her (buy-to-let) property. Reading her little column, it transpires that, as a freelance IT consultant, she managed to get pregnant, and subsequently lost her job. She is now taking legal action against her former emplyer. Now, I'll get plenty of flak for saying this, but it needs to come out. She's a complete muppet, and I have no sympathy for her. She was a contractor - don't confuse that with being an employee, regardless of the finer points of contact law - someone brought in by a company to do a specific - often time critical - piece of work. In the middle of this job, she comes along to her boss one day and says 'oh, I'm having a baby, so in the middle of this project, I'm going to disappear. You're going to pay me for maternity leave and also pay for someone else (another expensive 'freelance' consultant)to come in and do my job for me.' Personally, I think the employer is fully justified in saying 'how about fuck off'. Surely, surely, if this idiot woman wanted a child, she should have ensured some lifestyle security beforehand. A permanent job, significant cash reserves, a partner. But no, she blows all her money on a buy-to-let mortgage (a scheme which is apparently falling through the floor), expects to get compensation from an employer who justifiably got rid of her for what ultimately constitutes breach of contract, and has absolutely nothing to fall back on. What a muppet.

I do however love to see buy-to-let landlords getting their due. There are so many of these greedy swines littering the country that the result is an incredible scarcity of property for anyone looking to privately own their own home. This makes property prices fly through the roof, and anyone looking to buy has to be comfortable with the better part of �200,000 of debt minimum. So forgive me if I read a column from some moron that lacked the smarts to consider the life-impact of having a child despite not having a proper job, a second income or any decent savings, and dont feel any sympathy.

The only reason I feel any irritation at all is that there are such a large number of financially inept retards littering this sinking ship of a country that the banking institutions are clearly likely to react in the only way they know how - by making people like me pay for their bad debts by hiking the price for all their products.

The sheer selfishness of excessive debts doesn't surprise me. Indeed, human beings are, by definition, incapable of selfless acts. Think about it.

IB



0 message(s) of denial

Copyright Insane Bartender 2006-08-04 8:55 a.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender