Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
The Mystery of it all



It's not a cry you can hear at night
It's not somebody who's seen the light
It's a cold and it's a broken hallelujah

The above is taken from Rufus Wainwright's quite exceptional 'Hallelujah', which many of you will have heard on the soundtrack to Shrek.

Despite the content of the song, I find this to be one of the most relaxing and calming songs I've ever heard. Not since the days when I'd sit in front of a TV watching Watership Down on VHS because it was the only copy of Art Garfunkel's 'Bright Eyes' I had available to me, have I listened to something that soothed me and drained away everything else as though it were nothing more than extraneous superfluousness.

But then you listen to the words, from both then and now. Between the two, the subjects of mourning death and the pain of love lost are covered over with a sublime vocal and easy instrumentals.

What does that say about me then? Is it a relevant reflection of something in my sub-conscious? Or do I just enjoy the melody? Is there comfort in the suffering of others, or is there something in the music that just carries me, and the subject matter is otherwise irrelevant?

Something to ponder.

IB



1 message(s) of denial

bookafly - 2006-09-01 22:13:50

Just clicked on your link. "Hallelujah" is one of the best songs ever written in my opinion. I heard it at the end of a 'Cold Case' episode and immediately downloaded every version I could find. Rufus Wainwright's is the most compelling and haunting. I think that it's soothing because you know that you're not alone in you're suffering. Sincerely, Fly

======

Copyright Insane Bartender 2006-09-01 10:17 a.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender