Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
Writing Words

Planning a holiday to Sharm El Sheikh next year, hoping to get a few dives in the Red Sea, meet the sealife, soak up the sun and maybe go see some pyramids. But I feel that I may struggle to fill the time between now and then.

Perhaps it is my sudden inability to write that is getting me down a little. Writing is my therapy, it keeps my feelings out in the open, and stops me from suffering as the result of festering emotions. I have the stories I want to write, I have the inspiration and the words with which to express them, but for some reason, I am lacking the motivation to sit down and actually write them. Maybe I need to think more specifically about what I want my writing to do. I used to think that it was enough that people read it and enjoy it. After a time, that wasn't enough, and I needed constructive feedback and appraisal from people capable of writing stories of their own. Now, it seems, that is again not enough. Perhaps now I need some form of formalised recognition. Maybe I need to win a competition, get printed in a magazine, have a literary agent say my work has "potential", or something to that degree.

Obviously the easiest thing to do is write a few stories specifically for competition entry, but I need to ensure that any short story entries are longer than I typically have written them. I've historically gone for a 700-1200 word band for stories, and perhaps I should work more detail into the stories to flesh them out to closer to 3000 words or thereabouts.

I'm going to force myself this week to write something. Writing is never excellent when you force yourself to write it, but perhaps it will kickstart my fingers into a writing frenzy that can bring me back up where I belong.



0 message(s) of denial

Copyright Insane Bartender 2003-10-15 9:50 a.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender