Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
Burning Bridges

I have a problem. The problem is that, for all my bitterness and open hatred, I don't like upsetting people.

So while being in a position over the last couple of weeks of being able to choose which job I walk into next, and having the opportunity to use that position to significantly boost my earnings, I have ultimately been put in a position where I can't please everyone, and someone is bound to get upset. I have been honest throughout the process and everyone involved knows that I have other job roles I'm looking at.

Yesterday, I made my decision, and turned down one of the offers made to me in favour of other opportunities. This was a tough decision. The role offered to me was a good one. A step up, the chance to manage a team, big challenges and a chance to showcase some of my finer talents while working on my weaknesses.

My justification for turning it down was that, at a time in my life where there is so much going on with exams, wedding prep and personal issues, the role is perhaps slightly too stretching, ad potentially puts some of the non-work factors at risk, not to mention the small chance that I won't be up to the job itself.

So I knew I was going to disappoint them when I told them no, and also took the time to inform the remaining contenders as to the progress of events. However, I seem to have underestimated their reaction. No sooner did I arrive at work this morning than I was hauled off to a room by my manager who informs me that the people responsible for the job I rejected are very upset indeed.

So I have now been put into a position whereby I am being asked to retract my fully justified decision, against what I know is best for me. This is quite upsetting, given the politics that exists around job moves anyway, and I now feel that my future position at the company could become untennable in the long run. For the record, I'm sticking with my decision, because I believe it is the right one.

I have since been informed by my manager that talks have continued in the background, and I'm told that they now 'understand my reasoning' and insist that I have not burned any bridges.

But talk is cheap, and politics rules the workplace. How is it that a well-meaning individual can be made to feel bad for making the right decision?



1 message(s) of denial

Fuzzems - 2007-01-07 00:07:01

I feel you. I just turned down a position in the company I work for, however in my company, once you turn a position down, you ALWAYS get passed by for the next oppurtune time. Hang in there. Oh yeah and "welcome back". I have no clue how long this has been unlocked by myself dear am happy

======

Copyright Insane Bartender 2007-01-05 8:55 a.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender