Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
Welsh Thicko

After berating myself for spending too much time on my PC, and not enough performing other, more essential activities, I think I reacted by spending a total of 15 hours on my PC this weekend, stopping only to do some shopping and to watch the Man Utd game on Sky Sports. If this trend continues, I may soon become angry with myself. Topping the Premiership with Cardiff shouldn;t be something to brag about to some kid in a battle.net chatroom.

Had a fight with Hev on Saturday night. In a drunken slur, she branded me - and eventually my entire family - "Welsh thickos". She went on to offend pretty much everything about me, including the cardinal sin of exclaiming that having to leave University was "my own fault". A broken bowl, plate and bookshelf later, and I needed to be alone. So I shut myself in the spare room - where thankfully there were some basic medical supplies to help stem the bleeding of my knuckle - to gather my thoughts. Eventually though, the continued swelling of my hand (I think I aggravated an old would, of which my hands have many) became enough of a concern for me to leave the room to properly bandage it.

Of course, we made up later that evening, but I can't escape the feelnig that somehow she thinks I am in some way less of a man simply because of my family and background. Is this how it should be? Should I be looked down upon because of who I am? Should I be ashamed of the Welsh in me? Can simple geography make me any less a person? Can a few hundred miles make so much difference?

I put it to you that it does not. This argument falls back to the ignorant heart of racism. Wherever you are from does not dictate what you are. Sure, location and culture will always effect how you live your life, your views and expectations, but your intellect? Your ability to learn, to understand, to reason? No. Being part-Welsh has nothing to do with how intelligent (or otherwise) I might be, has nothing to do with any potential I might have, and certainly should not be used as ammunition against me.

I will no doubt spend some time pondering the ramifications of this argument over the next few days.



0 message(s) of denial

Copyright Insane Bartender 2004-01-12 10:04 a.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender