Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
Write and Wrong

Today I seriously considered self-publishing a novel. I can write a novel easy enough (he says, knowing full-well that he struggles to sit down and start typing), and for �70ish quid, I can have it published with a custom hardback cover and have 4 copies to myself to give to anyone who wants one.

Now, I'm no fool, and I know the folly of vanity publishing. Should I ever want to seriously publish a novel, I will go via the normals channels of submitting a manuscript to a hundred odd agents and publishers looking for someone willing to take it on. I won't buy myself 200 copies of my own book and hope to sell it.

I just like the idea of, after all the effort that goes into a novel, to have something there that shows what I made. Something I can sit on the bookshelf next to my other books and have something with my name staring back at me.

Perhaps the time has come to start taking writing a little more seriously. Perhaps I should finally dedicate the time I need to re-write Half-Life start to finish and see if the story I've concieved is truly as powerful on paper as it is in my head. Perhaps, perhaps, perhaps.

I feel guilty that I have not been writing. I get excited every time I think about Half-Life, not as it is, but as it will be should I ever re-write it. At the very least, in the coming days, I feel I should write a short story of some kind.

I'm sure I've said that before though.

IB



0 message(s) of denial

Copyright Insane Bartender 2004-01-19 2:51 p.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender