Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
Positive Thinking

Is it possible to be positive and cynical at the same time? Clearly I'm about as cynical as anyone can get, and in order for this not to "adversely effect my relationship with the business" in the office, I'm reading a book called simply "Positive Thinking". Essentially, this is just a manual on how to recite happy-lovey passages to yourself until you start to believe them, but it also raises a few interesting - and recently scientifically verified - points regarding how positive attitude results in good fortune.

Now, I'm not one to argue with science, but can I really walk around thinking "today could be my lucky day", while still bemoaning the squallid peasants littering the streets like a disease, and rant on about human apathy and how the world is an irritatingly self-indulgent load of pap?

Ambiguous to say the least. Perhaps it's just a case of compromise. I'll have a go at hating the world, while still paying enough attention to it to look for my big break, but I expect that doing so will only result in me feeling ever more cynical than before (and if that isn't a cynical view on positivity, I don't know what is). Perhaps my efforts are doomed to miserable failure.

Ha, I can feel myself aready convincing me that it's not worth bothering, but for the love of Christ (of which I have none) I'm going to give it a shot.

Might even start writing too. Revolutionary concept, I know.

IB



0 message(s) of denial

Copyright Insane Bartender 2004-02-09 9:41 a.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender