Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
In Reality

And so it comes to pass that "I'm a Celebrity... Get Me Out of Here!" once again comes to an end. After a few weeks of incomprehensible tedium and monotony, the final votes have been cast, the celebs have left the jungle, and life can get back to normal.

So why is everyone still talking about it?

All I ever hear is "ooh, did you see what she did" or "look what so and so ate". These programmes have turned the entire nation into a bunch of gossipping morons. The only thing worse than listening to people talk about these shows is actually seeing them watch the show itself. Half the time, the damn thing is dubbed silent "for legal reasons", and yet people sit there, a look of absolute awe etched into their faces which threatens to become permanent. And if I actually bring myself to watch the stuff myself, I see that... NOTHING IS HAPPENING!! These people are sitting on the edge of their seats like the world is about to be reborn, watching nothing and listening to nothing. What is wrong with these people?

I think it is quite disturbing that rather than actually do something, so many millions of people are choosing to sit and watch other people do nothing. Worse still is the text messaging. The little scrolling box that show people's text messages. I mean come ON!! Who are these sad little bastards sat in front of their TV texting away and staring in rapture waiting for their little message to appear? And why don;t they see this as a clear indication of how utterly shit the programme they're watching is? If the only entertainment to be had is waiting for "Kel 2 wn she rox luv Bob Lpool" to casually scroll across your screen, what the flying fuck are you doing watching it in the first place?

This nation seems to be over-run by the sad little simpletons who have nothing better to do than waste away their time gawking at this non-event television. The funniest thing of all is that these people are the type that would label me a "geek" for playing computer games. Oh, sweet, sweet irony.

Well, a final message to those fatuous bastards - At least I get some tangible entertainment value out of playing a game, while you sit on your arses watching nothing happen, and still find something in it to keep you chatting about it for days on end!

Get.

A.

Life.

IB



0 message(s) of denial

Copyright Insane Bartender 2004-02-10 11:33 a.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender