Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
Closure

Well, the cheque has finally arrived, and the case is finally closed. The car crash back in January 2002 need no longer trouble my thoughts.

I walked in from work yesterday, and there was the brown envelope from my solicitors. I opened it to find the cheque for �3,050 and a feedback form regarding Shoosmith's performance on my behalf. But the covering letter was what brought me real joy, as I read the immortal words "full and final settlement". Final settlement. At bloody last! I felt like a whole world had been lifted off my shoulders.

I hadn't even realised that it was weighing on my mind so much, but I'm overjoyed now that it's gone. Closure.

Back to life, back to reality. Such was my joy at receiving this settlement, that I promptly began playing "Forever Young" (the tune I was bopping away to back when I was a wee 15 year old) at full blast on my PC, and danced around the flat half naked drinking the last of the bottled beer.

Celebrations continued when Hev got home, as we went out to get some beers in, and also stopped in our favourite off licence and picked up a bottle of (highly recommended) Jagermeister, and also a bottle of Goldschlager, which is a cinnamon schnapps with flakes of gold floating in it. Also got an indian takeaway, and generally over-indulged all evening.

Here's me with a rare happy smile on my face.

=)

IB



0 message(s) of denial

Copyright Insane Bartender 2004-02-27 9:44 a.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender