Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
Holiday thoughts

Where do I begin? I'm recently back from a week in Sharm-El-Sheikh, where I caught the three S's. Sun Snorkeling and Scuba. Also there was sand, as I quad-biked my way through the desert at high speeds, but whatever. Quite nicely tanned now too, as the temperature was in excesss of 30 degrees pretty much every day. Of course, reading in the complementary Diver magazine on the flight over that a swimmer had been killed by a tiger shark off the coast not far from my resort back in February wasn't the ideal start to the holiday (nor was the five hour delay in Gatwick), but it was all uphill from there.

That aside, Hev has finally completed her little dream of owning a car. It's a Mercedes SMART car, which is tiny, but I'm still having to plant out �300 for half the insurance. I already feel ripped off, but what can you do? Soon, no doubt, I'll have to start paying for petrol as well. Yesterday we drove to Tesco to do the weekly shopping. That may sound fairly ordinary to you, but when you live less than 200 metres from Tesco, this is unhealthily lazy. I get the feeling that we'll be using this car at every sniff of an opportunity as Hev tries to justify shelling out �5,000 for it. To Hev, the car is freedom, to me, �5,000 could have been her half of a deposit for a mortgage.

Anyway, that pretty much makes it official that neither of us will ever again have even enough money to be able to smell it, and I fear that the recent holiday in Egypt may be the last taste of luxury for some time. One of Hev's friends invited us to go for a weekend in Butlins next month. Initially I laughed, but now I'm thinking "perhaps that's all I can hope to expect now".

It's funny, this world. You can earn all the good, legal money you like, but somehow, you never have enough to be able to claim affluency. Who are these people who own multiple homes? Who are these that own Ferraris and three grand laptops? The private pool owners, cruise boat captains and eccentric millionaires. What is it that you have done that I have not? Am I doomed to live in jealousy of those gifted with some mystical financial or business accumen?

I'm becoming increasingly frustrated with a world that systematically bleeds the life out of the people who serve it. Equally, I am frustrated by those who ignorantly allow themselves to be bled, as though their candle of their lives were lit solely for that purpose.

What manner of creature exists in a hierarchy designed to allow those on top to stay there by deliberately manipulating those below into doing their bidding, regardless of the torment their greed generates? Is humanity so inherently evil?



0 message(s) of denial

Copyright Insane Bartender 2004-04-26 12:31 p.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender