Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
About having kids

Written in response to a comment about how 'level-headed women' are apparently more often than not claiming to not want children, ever.


The current state of affairs is nothing short of pathetic. That the law allows (and in the case of some countries - Australia for example) actively encourages any random individual to generate offspring is utterly incomprehensible. Given all we (collectively) have learned over recent decades about the extremely delicate balance between good parenting, and raising a psychopath, I'm utterly stunned that the decision to raise children does not require one to undergo intensive psychological and intellectual examination, enforcible by the state.

Parenting should require qualification, and parenthood should be constantly monitored and regulated. That two seemingly random people are, in today's society, able to 'get jiggy' and inadvertently generate the next Ted Bundy or Adolf Hitler, simply because of their sheer psychological incompetence (through no current fault of their own) is outrageous.

Personally, I wouldn't want to have children until a more reliable system is in place. Both through fear of bringing up a monster, and also, equally importantly, that the world in which my child is reared does not so readilly accept instances of bullying, disruptive behaviour and other factors likely to destroy their future prospects.

I hate this world. It's so dumb.

Australia paying anyone who has a kid $3,000. More than likely encouraging every teenager in the continent to spew one out for a new wardrobe and some CDs.

Abstinence groups like Silver Ring Thing encouraging no sex instead of safe sex, rather than in conjunction with. Delaying the inevitable sexual infection, but ultimately ensuring it.

Underage mothers - legally incapable of acting to become impregnated in the first place - offered state asistance to rear their - often fatherless - offspring, instead of being penalised and stripped of their child, ultimately encouraging teenage pregnancy.

God help the soft-centred twits that infest this country like a cancer if I were ever in a position of power. They'd feel like they'd been fucked by a train.



1 message(s) of denial

Christine - 2004-07-17 14:11:50

Harsh reality or not, I can agree with your views on this. I've been married going on eight years and at first I was fully ready to buy in to the whole breeder thing. Now I thank my lucky stars (or whatever keeps me childless) daily. Kids are great, but at what cost? It's not just monetary. I come from a small town and with the exeption of a couple of very homely friends, every girl I knew in school had a child before they graduated or dropped out. So...what started as a "thanks for writing a riveting entry" has turned in to a huge comment. Sorry lol. Have a good one,and keep writing these great entries! ~*M*~ Christine

======

Copyright Insane Bartender 2004-07-01 2:49 p.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender