Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
More Parental Vitriol

What I find interesting is that many parents sound incapable of controlling their children without the use of force. Clever.

And what exactly qualifies you to be a parent? What legible proof can you give me that you are fit to develop a young mind into something I would want to see in society? I'm looking specifically here for your child psychology degree, subscription to psychological journals detailing how the mind develops, and the essential dos and don'ts of parenting. Because last time I looked, the common parent didn't have these things, and was left to rear a complex and powerful evolutionary superbeing, capable of launching spacecraft, devastating ecosystems, and slaughtering it's own kind, without the necessary rules in force to prevent potential adversities. What professional approach are you using to ensure that your child leans towards the former ability, while avoiding the other two?

You see, we mock the government for having the 'gall' to intrude on the family, and how a parent should raise a child, but all I need to do is look outside my lounge window to know that there are a vast number of parents that clearly need direction in this regard.

Parents these days think they have a God given right to raise their child however they deem fit, regardless of the potential outcome. What absolutely stuns me is that the parents are never held accountable when the child turns out to be a raping, torturing, murduring psychopath or a pathologically lying, work-avoiding benefits drain.

As it stands, parents are free to develop a generation of unfettered miscreants with impunity. I don't know about any of you, but the very thought of that scares the living piss out of me.

A human life, in my opinion, is far too important a thing to be readilly put in the hands of any layman without the necessary qualifications to ensure that the child is brought up correctly. If I were ever in power, and this can never happen because common sense is radical, parenting would be strictly regulated, and the right to be a parent would require intensive psychological analysis and testing, backed up by solid academic qualification. I'm sure the response will be a frothing, spitting outrage from parents that I would dare deem anyone unworthy of doing something 'natural', but my response is that so long as one parent in 60 million can do it wrong, the whole of society is at risk. Personally, I don;t see why I should have to worry about being stabbed because someone I've never had any interaction with couldn't bring their child up properly.



0 message(s) of denial

Copyright Insane Bartender 2004-07-29 10:26 a.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender