Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
Family RRP

I read recently about certain people complaining about government taxes, council taxes etc making their lives difficult, because they couldn't provide all they wanted for their children, or were struggling to pay the bills, because they had kids.

Heh, I want to scream and rage against the sheer stupidity of this, but for once, I will simply lay my argument out, and let you decide for yourselves.

Should people have children if they are not financially able to support them without government assistance? I mean, really. I've nothing against kids, other than the fact that, globally, there are far too many of them, and generally, they are not being raised correctly. But what really astounds me is that so few take stock of their financial situation before making the decision to breed. Now, maybe my opinion is biased here, as I work in finance, but this seems to me to be very foolish.

You're going along, living to your means, happy. Then you decide to add someone to the equation for whom you must pay a considerable initial outlay, and also a fair degree of ongoing support and maintenance costs, and you're surprised that you suddenly don't have any money? It would be funny were it not for the fact that it adversely affects the lives of the children involved due to the effects of growing up in poverty.

Clever parents. Here's a thought, wait until you have more income than you need to get by, and considerable savings before even considering children, and perhaps you won't find yourself living a subsitence lifestyle supported by my tax money.



0 message(s) of denial

Copyright Insane Bartender 2004-09-10 12:09 p.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender