Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
Responsibility

Why do people in this world have such a problem with taking responsibility? Somebody does something wrong at work, they deny it until they're blue in the face, and attempt to pass the buck onto anyone outside of earshot. Surely people would look at this person in a better light if they took responsibility for their problem, and ensured that whatever they did wrong was corrected with minimum of fuss, allowing the office machine to tick ominously onwards?

People are such cowards. They shy away from responsibility, accountability and from clearing up after their own fuck-ups. This shitty avoidance attitude is pretty much standard human reaction, althuogh there are a few bright sparks that wind up being persecuted for having the gall to admit that they aren't perfect, and are capable of erring.

I dream of a world where nobody fears taking responsibility for their actions. Where people consider the reasons behind those actions and are aware of the consequences of said actions before they make them. Is it so hard for us to resist thinking with our hearts, and instead, for once, engaging the under-utilised wedge of grey matter occupying the space between our ears?

Is it so hard to ensure one understands both sides of everything before reacting to it? So difficult to consider ramifications of ill-thought out or illogical actions before one carries them out? Is it so difficult to convince people to reason?

As I continue to watch in dismay at a world that is still so easily whipped up by newspaper headlines written in huge fonts with tiny, provocative words, I doubt my vision will come to pass while I still draw breath. I'm convinced that, assuming humanity lasts long enough, in some decades or centuries to come, this particular period of civilisation will be looked upon as the true Dark Age of mankind. An age where everything is at our fingertips. All the accumulated knowledge of hundreds of generations is available to anyone who wants it, allowing us to make informed, intelligent decisions. But we don't. We pretend like it's not there, and deliberately wallow in a stupefying bubble of ignorance without any excuse to maintain it. This bubble allows us to continue turning a blind eye to the slow but definite destruction of our planet, the endless suffering of our own people, right under our very noses, the deliberate manipulation by those we chose to lead us, and so many other things.

I'm forever amused by the pass-the-buck culture though. So many people I've seen say to us to 'stand up and be counted'. But these people never include themselves in such sweeping invitations. It's always for someone else to do. Those that whoop and cheer at such people also look onto the next person to do as they are being beseeched. The buck stops only when someone is foolish enough to believe that everyone is with them, and ready to stand, only to be left standing alone, a target to be shot at.

Ultimately though, who am I to say such things? I am no less guilty of these failings, and although I try my best to convince myself that I am at least better than some, I am essentially fooling myself. But before you judge me, ask yourself: what will you do when all sense tells you to stand and make a difference? Will you stand tall and proud? Or will you look nervously around you, waiting for somebody else to stand first, in case you didn't quite understand the question? Will you look away and to the floor, pretending it doesn't concern you?

Human beings are obsessed by that which does not concern them, and not nearly concerned enough about the responsibilities which they need to shoulder. I only hope that we can change, because this world is not one I would wish to impose upon my children.



1 message(s) of denial

Publius - 2004-10-07 01:14:19

I completely agree, and as I have a lawyer it got so bad at my place , it proves what you said is true.

======

Copyright Insane Bartender 2004-10-01 2:40 p.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender