Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
Fight Glazer

My message to Manchester United fans worldwide in the face of Malcolm Glazer's continued attempts to buy our club:


I sense a lot of resignation from some 'fans' online. You're giving up, and letting the ginger leprechaun take your club by the ankles and shake it to see how much cash falls out.
Clever. Some of you are saying you'll support the club regardless, and hopefully as little will change as possible under the Glazer regime.

Such thinking comes right from the disease infested bowels of Cloud Cuckoo Land.

You all know by now of how ruthless this Glazer character is, and if you don't, you'd better get reading. He brooks no resistance, nor any dissent.

By simple progression of logic, the minimum degree of change you can expect should Glazer take control is the exit of the following names from Old Trafford who have spoken up against Glazer:

Sir Alex Ferguson,
Ryan Giggs,
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer,
Rio Ferdinand

That's just the bare minimum degree of his wrath. You can expect more to follow.

Perhaps you can live with idling by and allowing the foundations of the club be unceremoniously brushed off like inconvenient cookie crumbs, but I can't. I won't stand for it. I cannot, and will not simply stand by and watch some self interested, money grabbing, life stealing, soul destroying leprechaun simply waltz in and destroy everything I've loved about this club for the last 20 years.

THAT's why I'm a member of Shareholders United.

THAT's why every spare penny I have is going towards buying more shares.

THAT's why I'm praying for a lottery win tonight so that I can plough it into saving the club I love with every fibre of my being.

But what about you? What are you doing? Some of you are simply reading the news, believing for some reason that you cannot make a difference, waiting for the end result. To you, I say this:

What have you got to lose by buying a few shares? If anything, you should look at it logically, and conclude that buying a few shares now, at the current price, means you'll be in for a small profit should you be forced to sell if Glazer gets his way.

I would love to know why any other fans here have not taken any action to save their club from being raped to feed the insatiable greed of an American family that has no care for the future of your club whatsoever. Beyond literally having not a penny to your name, I can see no excuse bar misguided apathy.

This is last chance saloon. Make your move now, or be forever haunted by the memory that when your club needed you, you weren't there, and now it's gone.



0 message(s) of denial

Copyright Insane Bartender 2005-02-10 9:49 a.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender