Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
Hair Raising

I'm not sure what's wrong with me these days. It takes little or nothing at all to make my rage burn right now. I feel like I'm ready to explode most of the time.

The other day, I was only trying to mould my hair into something vaguely resembling an acceptable appearance, and the fury that coursed through me when this proved to be a disproportionately taxing enterprise had me literally on the verge of ripping my hair out altogether. After pulling numerous angry faces in the mirror, I suppressed the anger and just had to deal with the fact that my hair is unfetterable.

I guess I'm frustrated that something in my brain is slowly coming to the realisation that the world I live in will never become a world in which I would want to live within my lifetime. What do I mean by that? I mean that I long for a world where responsibility walks hand in hand with accountability.

Parents raising unruly children being held accountable for their poor parenting. Industry being held accountable for its exploitation of both customers and environment alike. Politicians being held accountable for the promises they are so ready to voice, but on which they so seldom deliver.

I don't expect to live to see this become a reality. I don't think it ever will be a reality. That is a shame.

What has this got to do with me staring red-faced into a mirror contemplating the act of tearing out my own hair? Heh, my fury is just one of a growing number of side-effects resulting from an increasingly defective civilisation.

I'll possibly go into this in more detail some other time. I'm not really in the mood, and I'm a little busy at the moment.



0 message(s) of denial

Copyright Insane Bartender 2005-05-09 12:46 p.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender