Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
National Identity

I have to say, I really do read some quite remarkable toss on the news these days. It seems that it was illegal all along to fly those England flags from our windows and cars. Fortunately, the law that forbids the practice is soon to be scrapped, because it's outdated and stupid.

More stupid, though, is the fact that a family in Peterborough were almost prosecuted under the law for flying two flags from their house. A compromise was eventually reached, but the reason - if it can indeed be termed such - used by the opposing council for bringing it up in the first place was that "a single vertical pole would have been fine but because two St George flags were flown at an angle to the house they were classed as advertising".

Excuse me?

Advertising what exactly? England? Are they encouraging passing individuals to come buy a patch of it? This level of morose stupidity is tempered by the alarming fact that the fuckups making this claim are government officials. These witless buffoons are running the country, and they see flying the national flag of said country as illegal advertising.

Muuh! Fucking MUUUUH!! I'd bang my head against a rough brick wall if I thought it would do anything other than reduce the volume of the single voice of sanity screaming through the darkness at this form of grotesque idiocy.



0 message(s) of denial

Copyright Insane Bartender 2006-07-25 8:25 a.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender