Next
Previous
Older entries
The Year of My Lament
The Melancholeric Epiphany
Sleeping with the Enemy
Stupid Cupid
'Up to 8MB'
M.U.S.T.
Diaryland
My Notes
Write Words
The Games We Play

Why am I so obsessed with playing computer games? This is something I am becoming increasingly perplexed about. I know I have other things that need to be done when I get home from work, but rather than do them, I jump straight onto my PC, load up Championship Manager or KOTOR, and play away until bedtime, pausing only to cook and eat dinner.

What is wrong with me? I need to tighten the bolts on my cross-trainer. Shit, I need to start using the fucking thing again. I need to follow it up by using my weights, need to spend more time on my writing so I can finally put the new evolutions of Half-Life, Blood Lust and my other stories down on paper, rather than leaving them swilling around my head like poison.

So much to do, I always say, so little time. Yet I know I could easily find three hours EVERY DAY simply by not playing games on my PC. Is my need so great, or my alternatives so poor that I must do this to myself? I know it isn't for want of better alternatives that I play. I love exercising, I love writing, I love reading and developing new skills. But somehow I lack the willpower to drag myself away from my games collection to do any of these things.

I must find the strength to resist this temptation, and use my time to better effect. I know I can make a novel of any one of five or six stories mulling about my brain. I need only take the time to make my vision a reality.

Can it be done? I certainly hope so.

Laters,

IB



0 message(s) of denial

Copyright Insane Bartender 2004-01-09 9:39 a.m.

e-mail me: Insane Bartender